And the Oscar winner is… Who cares?!

 



The reason why the Oscars and the Grammys have always been the most important award ceremonies in the world is because they did not give a fuck if you were Tom Cruise, Brad Pitt, Madonna, or Whitney. If your work wasn’t deserving to win, you just didn’t. They are not a popularity award show—that’s the People’s Awards—they base their votes on professionalism, artistry, etc., etc. Sure, there’s been plenty of this and that. Favors happen everywhere, let’s not pretend, BUT at the end of the day, people who were awarded—movies and albums that were awarded—went on to be part of music and film legacy.

If you wanted to see your favorite actor or singer win, you had the MTV VMAs and MTV Movie Awards. Best action scene, best kiss scene, whatever. And it was fun until it became so obvious that nobody would show up if they didn’t win something, to the point that people stopped watching. That’s what’s happening now with both these shows. Everybody wants a piece.

I personally can’t comprehend it—why would you want an award that you know very well was not given to you based on your merits? Especially in these times, in which, unlike years ago, it doesn’t really help with sales or your status.

It looks like it’s all about “including everybody” and “being PC,” which is great, BUT that’s not the case here. They’re not including everybody because everybody SHOULD be included (why is that even a thing?). They are doing that to reach a broader audience that was excluded for so long, in order to make up for the audience that doesn’t watch them anymore. It’s a business method that is applied everywhere. And it works for like a minute, then it becomes kind of offensive, and the moment things pick up again, “inclusiveness” flies out of the window.

If anything, it shows Hollywood is in crisis. The films are not “filming.” People are not stupid. The viewership has decreased from 32.90 million in 2017 to 17.86 million in 2026—the lowest ever (excluding the 2021–22 COVID years).

How did “Golden” win over “I Lied to You” or “Sweet Dreams of Joy”? Come on. Even their live performance was shaky. Don’t wanna be hating, and congratulations to them, but come fuckin’ on—what’s Oscar about that song?

And how did “Sinners” get 16 nominations? Best Original Screenplay? Nobody watched “From Dusk Till Dawn”? Lmao, TF! And I’m sorry, but what was so extraordinary about Michael B. Jordan’s acting in this movie that touched their hearts so much that he deserved Best Actor? It literally could have been Creed with a Southern accent. Hot af, good actor—but was that performance Oscar-worthy? Nah. Timothée deserved it. “Marty Supreme” was shit, but Timothée was great in it.

“One Battle After Another”? So overrated and just a beef stew of a movie. Just throw every nonsense in, add Leo, and everybody acts like they love it and tries to overanalyze it. “The Secret Agent” or “Bugonia” should have won. Not that they were any greater, but at least they made sense.

Clearly, Hollywood has a movie problem—mostly because they suck—but there are plenty of interesting independent movies that could have been included. I mean, Frankenstein was nominated. They could nevAH, like 15 years ago lol. There are horror movies nominated in the Best Picture Oscar category. Do you understand how bad things have gotten? Lmao.

Then there’s the opening monologue and the acceptance speeches… “What an amazing year for the movies?” Lol, OK Conan. It hasn’t surpassed $10B since 2009, but what a great year! Universal healthcare? Like anyone in the audience… anyway. I’m not saying these things shouldn’t be brought up, it’s just… can we have one fucking movie night a year in which we just talk everything movies? Because we come here for just that—to take our minds away for a moment from everything that’s going on. And clearly, clearly, I don’t need millionaires to lecture me on things that are not part of their reality.

Shit happens—they get on a jet and gtfo. Shit happens, the rest of us end up on the street. We’re not the same. But what we’re not gonna do is take this “we care for you” BS while just trying to watch an award ceremony. Cut that shit off and save those minutes for people whose speeches are getting cut short.

And they’re throwing shade at Netflix because someone needs to get blamed for all this—but Netflix is the only thing that’s saving this industry. They’re trying to make it look like that’s the reason people don’t wanna go to the movies anymore. Nah. Make better movies. You have the actors, you have the technology, you have the industry—why can’t you get better stories? It is so simple. You just need better stories. Because your stories are based on money-making and tricking the audience instead of creativity.

Because McDonald’s is better at advertising, it does not mean their burgers are the best. And that’s the case here. Make better burgers.

I know I sound like I’m angry or something—it’s just that I grew up watching these award shows, and I feel like we’re losing them one by one. Not because audiences don’t care, but because it feels like everybody is becoming so lazy, and instead of keeping up with the times, they just continuously try to find excuses and things to blame. Isn’t admitting you have a problem the first step?

Great year for movies? Bish, have you gone to the movies? And then you’re gonna call out the Netflix CEO for it? Lmao.

So what should be done?

Well,I’m not getting paid to advise anyone on that, but maybe revamp tf out of everything? Start with that stage that has been almost the same for 100 years. Include more indie movies. Recognize the new generation of actors. Audiences now have access to movies made in every corner of the world—start including them. Yeah, there’s a category; I’m just saying expand past that, etc., etc. so to keep being the center of the culture and not end up just a voice among many. 

The only thing that will save Hollywood is better writers. No one watches Casablanca for the special effects.

Powered by Blogger.